Cricket 2 years ago

Aussies march into ODI tri-series final

  • Aussies march into ODI tri-series final

    Australian cricketer Mitchell Marsh (#8) and his teammate Glenn Maxwell celebrate their vicoty during the 8th One Day International match of the Tri-nation Series between Australia and West Indies at the Kensington Oval stadium in Bridgetown on June 21, 2016. Australia defeated West Indies by 6 wickets to secure their place in the series final. / AFP / Jewel SAMAD (Photo credit should read JEWEL SAMAD/AFP/Getty Images)

Australia have opted to bowl in their ODI tri-series clash with West Indies in Barbados, which is a virtual semi-final.

Steve Smith's side will seal their place in the series final, also at Kensington Oval next Monday (AEST), if they win the contest.

Defeat will mean the World Cup holders finish below West Indies and South Africa on the table and head home.

You might also like

Australia named an unchanged XI, retaining paceman Scott Boland ahead of legspinner Adam Zampa.

Shannon Gabriel will make his ODI debut for the hosts, who dropped quick Jerome Taylor.

"I would have looked to bowl first as well," West Indies skipper Jason Holder admitted at the toss.

Australia XI: Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (capt), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitch Marsh, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Scott Boland

West Indies XI: Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Kieron Pollard, Carlos Brathwaite, Jason Holder (capt), Sulieman Benn, Sunil Narine, Shannon Gabriel.

0 0
please wait...